Dan Campbell, Pete Carroll, Mike Tomlin snubbed for Coach of the Year

Dan Campbell, Pete Carroll, Mike Tomlin snubbed for Coach of the Year

The Associated Press announced five finalists Wednesday for its Coach of the Year award, as it usually does. The fifth candidates—the A giant‘ Brian Daboll, the Bills‘ Sean McDermott, the Jaguars‘ Doug Pederson, the 49ers‘ Kyle Shanahan, and the Eagle‘ Nick Sirianni – everyone deserves them in their own right. Daboll and Pederson led impressive first-year turnarounds. Shanahan led a team down to their fourth string back to the NFC championship, McDermott steered his squad through one of the scariest injuries in NFL history and Sirianni piloted Philadelphia to a franchise-record 14 wins.

However, three other coaches can plausibly claim to have been snubbed for the league’s most prestigious coaching award. Here’s a look at who else might have made the slate of AP Coach of the Year finalists.

Pete Carroll, Hawks

The IS Hawk many have given them up for dead ahead of the 2022 season. In March, Seattle dealt quarterback Russell Wilson—face of the franchise for ten years—to the Broncos for a range of players and draft capital. Seattle appeared to be starting over in an NFC West minefield that included three 2021 playoff teams, including the defending Super Bowl champion Rams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *